The January writings

So this month has certainly been interesting. I thought I would still be unemployed for another month, but fate has been kind and I managed to acquire a job about midway through the month. I’m working at the Walmart in Brenham as a Fresh Production Associate. I work about 32 hrs/week (which is 4 days), doing 8 hour shifts from 1-10 pm (with a 1 hour break for a meal, plus two 15 minute breaks!!). I got my first paycheck after doing orientation and my first day of training, and it was not too shabby (11 hours of pay). My next check is going to be pretty big, and everything after that.
At least I’m guaranteed hours at this job, unlike my previous job where my hours were cut dramatically. I mean, it was a nice job, but the low hours were hurting me…And considering I’m living in my own place now (with my boyfriend), I really need to bring in some income if I want to help with expenses.

Even though my work place is 20 miles drive from where I live, I’m not complaining. Sure my gas costs will be a bit more, but I think my income will balance that out.

Anyway, I think I’ll only be able to post once this month, so consider this my January blog post. I’ll try to post more than once in the next few months, but that depends on how busy I’ll be.

Leave a comment