You have entered the wryter corner

Alright, let’s get things started, shall we? My name is Blair. I’m 27 years old. I live in Texas with my boyfriend of 9+ years, in a rental house in Hempstead. along with a dog and two turtles. Strange that I started life in Southern California, living there for 20 years. Moved to South Dakota with my family back in 2011, and lived in Sioux Falls up until early August in 2018, when I made the big decision to move in with my boyfriend from Texas. After 2 days of driving, I arrived in Tomball (a city north of Houston). Then we found a place close to where my bf works at Prairie View A&M University. Kind of nice having a house instead of an apartment. Much more room for me to walk around and stretch my legs. I also made sure to set up a room for my office, where I can sit and work on art commissions.
I started out writing stories when I was 8 years old. Interesting fact about that: I submitted a short story to this contest at my elementary school, but I was disqualified because the staff thought that I had gotten someone else to write it for me, because the vocabulary and wording seemed too “advanced” for a 3rd grader. I was upset at this, certainly, but it did not deter me from wanting to express my creativity and story writing. In middle school, it was a little better, as I actually got an honorable mention from the vice principal for a short story I wrote for another event.

The other big thing I am going to talk about here: art. Since I was about 11 years old, I’ve been drawing. Ever since I saw a friend of mine doodle on some paper, I wanted to do the same. Plus, with all the stories and ideas I had, I wanted to bring the characters to life visually. I started drawing on paper, and when I was 19 years old, I purchased a Wacom tablet, and began the foray into digital art. I still occasionally doodle on paper, but generally prefer drawing on the computer these days. I draw humans, fantasy stuff, anthropormorphic animals (animals with human-like qualities), dragons, cute things, silly things, and some other cool things. I still have much to learn and room to improve, but I feel I improve a little each day, since I try to at least do some art every day, even if it’s just a sketch.
So yeah, that’s basically what I’ll be talking about here. One other thing, that I think I should mention because it’s super important: I have autism. Specifically, I was diagnosed with Asperger Syndrome when I was around 9 years old. I showed signs earlier than that, but I wasn’t properly diagnosed until later, because boys are more commonly diagnosed with autism than girls are. After putting me through a gamut of tests, the results came back with high-functioning Asperger Syndrome. I’m glad I had a supportive family to help me with getting through the years though, because I’ve heard horrible stories of other people on the spectrum not getting support from their families (or even worse, the parents trying to “cure” their kids with various awful methods). So yeah, some of my posts might be a little “odd”, because I still struggle with some things, specifically socializing and expressing myself. But I’m much better at it now than I used to be when I was younger.

One thought on “You have entered the wryter corner

Leave a comment